Barrel twist and rifle suggestions for 3 gun

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by BIGGY40z, Jul 5, 2020.

1. BIGGY40z

BIGGY40z New Member

Relatively new here and short history. I've shot small competitions and have my own pistol and shotgun but have used friends rifles (usually a Ruger from one buddy). My knowledge is limited on rifles and to be honest I'm just learning enough to figure out what to get and then not think about it until something needs to be replaced :)

I've been looking at going with Spikes Tactical for most of the parts except trigger. 1:8 seems to be a relatively versatile twist but most of spikes barrels are 1:7. They do have one barrel (223 Wylde) which is 1:8 but is wrapped in carbon fiber and not sure if that's a good way to go.

https://spikestactical.com/collections/barrels/bsf-223-wylde-barrel-fluted-carbon-fiber-sleeved/

I'm open to other rifle suggestions. General usage will be 50% on small indoor competitive shoots, some outdoor 3 gun and then a bit of plinking at paper. No intention of home defense.

2. Txhillbilly

Txhillbilly Well-Known Member

If you're wanting a lite weight weapon,then a carbon fiber wrapped barrel with save you about a pound.
    What type of bullet weight's will you mainly be shooting?
    You want to match the twist rate that will best match the bullet weight and style that you will be shooting. I use a 1-8 twist on all my 223/5.56 barreled AR's because I shoot bullets from 55 gr up to 77 gr,and it stabilizes them great. A 1-7 will work with 55 gr bullets,but is more ideal to shoot bullets over 75 gr.

I personally wouldn't spend $600 on an AR barrel unless it had Kreiger,Lilja,Bartlein as the barrel maker.

Sniper03 likes this.

3. Sniper03

Sniper03 Supporting Member Supporter

BIGGY