Bad trigger on Springfield RO.

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by Dearhunter, May 6, 2014.

1. Dearhunter

Dearhunter Supporting Member Supporter

I received my Springfield Range Officer last Friday evening. Upon inspection it looked good. Put in a snap-cap (dummy round) to feel out the trigger, thats when it all went down hill!! It is the worst trigger pull I have ever experienced on a 1911. I have been shooting competition with 1911's since 1972. I own four of them, this is my fifth. Even my cheap Tisas is smoother and lighter than the RO. The trigger seems to bind, give a little then bind again and then it hits the trigger release. I have not cleaned or taken the gun apart. I emailed Springfield Amory first to see what they had to say. As of today, I have not had an answer from them. I will call tomorrow.

I have shot a friends RO at my gun club, and the trigger on that one was nothing like this.

Anyone else had any issues with the RO trigger?

2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Wait for SA's response.

If it were mine, I would completely disassemble and look for wear marks on the trigger bow.

Bind, clear, bind could be something in the trigger bow channel.

Please keep us informed.

3. Eagle1803

Eagle1803 New Member

The only question I have if you are in competition, why would you buy a Springfield?

I just figured you guys bought those high class pistols in 1911, no offense intended, just wondering that's all.

4. Dearhunter

I have a Colt Gold Cup match and a RI match 1911 that I use regular in matches. In my Military shooting team days, I used a Springfield matched 1911 in winning most of my championships. I bought this out of nostalgia. Plus, I tried one out and had a three inch group at 25 yards. Soooooo

5. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

strange indeed. every SA 1911 i have ever owned had a great trigger including my current one.