AR's to avoid

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by brewna01, Jun 22, 2012.

1. brewna01

brewna01 New Member

I'm new to the AR world and am thinking about getting one. My question is that is it worth buying the $1200 colt or saving some dough and getting the ones priced around $500-700?

2. MrPEZO

MrPEZO New Member

I say plan on spending 1,000-1,200
    Colt, Spikes Tactical, BCM, LMT, LWRC a few to name some!

3. powell0892

powell0892 New Member

Unfortunately it's not as cut and dry as 1200 colt or cheaper 500. There are guns out there that are in between that price range that IMO are just as good if not better than colt such as Bravo company (BCM) or Daniel defense. It just takes some time looking and thinking about what you want if it were me I would go with a BCM, which is actually what I am in the process of doing. You can have one in your lap for under 1k and it will stick with that colt any day. Go look at the new thread colt vs BCM if your curious.

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

if your only shooting it 100-200 rounds a month and its just a range toy you can live with i dont see anything wrong with a cheap solution. long as you understand the quality is going to be poor at best.

cant count how many folks i see at the local rifle range with junk rifles claiming the ar platform is crap bevause they bought super cheap piece of junk.

if your going to use it a lot, run it hard, expect it perform no matter what, might have to take it to a life or death situation i would recomend getting something like a colt or bcm

if your looking for a tack driving wonder i would recomend something a in the upper end as well.

just depends on your use. if you DO buy cheap just dont complain about that decision later by blaming the gun :D

5. connectegr

connectegr New Member

There are a lot of options between $700 and $1000, that are reliable well made rifles. There are dozens of posts on this forum about the options.

6. brewna01

brewna01 New Member