Are P-TAC uppers any good?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by beastmode986, Feb 26, 2014.

1. beastmode986

beastmode986 New Member

2. nchunt101

nchunt101 New Member

I have no experience with the P-TAC line but IMHO I eould save a bit longer and get the genuine PSA products. The price difference is small enough I would spring for the regular upper. In my experience you get what you pay for but as I have said I only have experience with the premium PSA uppers and say they are worth every penny, esp when you catch them on sale.

3. Ibmikey

Ibmikey Member

Palmetto premium stuff is just that...premium. I have many rifles using their uppers or total parts and there is just no stopping them. P tac is outsourced from another company and serviceable for guns that are not going to receive a lot of shooting, my buddy has a PSA supplied P tac which has a non chrome lined barrel and inexpensive BCG wrapped in a nice Mid West Ind rail that he bought on the cheap. On paper it shows.

4. Ez2b

Ez2b New Member

I have PSA premium stuff but this question has been asked many times and it seems the majority of the answers are stay away from P-tac go with PSA premium.
    It seems for the PSA stuff it's just a little bit more not much

One
    Big
    Ass
    Mistake
    America

5. michael a

michael a New Member

I have a ptac upper on a build that I done for my son. I have no complaints. It's the ptac m4 upper no chrome lined with a 1 in 9 twist. Don't have a lot of rounds through it probably 100-150 so far and only had 1 fail to feed and it was a old mag got a new mag and it runs fine. Have not tried to drive tacks with it but he did kill a deer with it this year. It's done everything we have needed it to do so no complaints here.

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

6. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member