AR15 buffer tube/ take down pin problem

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by Firecontrol663, Feb 7, 2014.

1. Firecontrol663

Firecontrol663 New Member

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I hope I am posting in the correct area.

I am new to AR15ing and am currently building one. I have a Colt AR15 .223. I recently installed a carbine stock to it and replaced the buffer tube. Everything is fine and feels good. When I pull the charging handle back with the take down pin pulled out it is very easy to rack back. When I push the take down pin in and pull the charging handle back it's very hard to pull. I don't understand what the problem is. Does anyone have any idea?

2. KG7IL

KG7IL Active Member

Welcome to the Forum.

Please stop by the Introductions http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f2 and introduce yourself. You will be met by the welcoming committee

Unless I am misunderstanding, the resistance would be the buffer spring. That is, IF the upper is swung open with the pin removed, and IF the upper is closed with the pin installed.

If this isn't the case, let us know.

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

Did you also get a carbine buffer and carbine buffer spring??

If your using the original rifle length as I'm assuming that's what you had since you didn't give us pics or a model number to go by... its not going to work that way

Colt makes and has made a LOT of different models ar15. Saying colt ar15 can mean a lot of things as they have been making them for half a century

4. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

It almost sounds like the bolt carrier is scraping on the pin (out = easy, in = hard).

When you disassemble for cleaning, get a punch the same diameter of the pin and see if the carrier rubs on the punch.

In other words, try to duplicate the problem without the lower attached.

5. JonM

JonM Moderator