Ar15 accuracy upgrades

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by ar4711, May 23, 2014.

1. ar4711

ar4711 New Member

I have a bushmaster xm15 patrol mans carbine and was wanting to get better accuracy out of it (223) I was wondering if anybody had any clues on how to get better accuracy out of it , it has the standard 16.5" barrel on it stock bolt also a ATN mk390 night optic on it very crisp clean rifle I was wondering if there was any quick and under about 200$ upgrades to get better accuracy and distance on it please and thankyou

2. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member

change to a free floating handgaurd

3. ar4711

ar4711 New Member

Is that going to add much or ?

4. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member

a little. not tons. also could change the trigger. but that doesnt mean its going to make your rifle more accurate, just means you will have a better trigger that with practice could make you and your rifle more accurate together.

not sure of your skill set but most rifles will shoot better once the shooter becomes proficient with said rifle.

5. ar4711

ar4711 New Member

I am proficient with the rifle I can (not using night scopes) put on my Nikon scope and shoot 250yard 6" groups (not great but) all day long but I want to be able to make the 500+ shots though

6. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

What kind of accuracy are you getting now?

What kind of ammo are you using now? Having a load that YOUR rifle likes makes a big difference.

Do you have a day optic? Being able to have a consistent aim point is important.

How are you shooting it when you are judging the accuracy? (Standing, benched, prone, using a sling, a bipod?). Keeping pressure off the barrel is important.

7. SSGN_Doc

Well you just answered a couple of my questions while I was typing.:D

8. ar4711

ar4711 New Member

Bipod (bayonet lug) I am shooting hornady 75 grain bthp rounds and yes a Nikon 9-14 40 mm

9. Franklin1995

Franklin1995 New Member