AR pistol

Discussion in 'NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion' started by Wi_Hunter556, Nov 19, 2013.

1. Wi_Hunter556

Wi_Hunter556 New Member

Just curious about legalities. I'm looking at building an AR pistol. Does the lower have to be registered as a pistol? I don't want to mess with laws and potentially get in trouble at a range or anything. Just looking for the right route to take.

2. TexasGunner

TexasGunner New Member

Now I am no expert on the law, my understanding is that it does not necessarily need to have been registered as a pistol receiver so long as it was never registered as a rifle receiver. My stag stripped lower was just registered as "receiver", so it was clear.

3. cotex

cotex New Member

Register as a pistol period!

4. Mercator

Mercator Active Member

A virgin receiver is good for any firearm with legally assembled parts. Registration is required only for the NFA specified setups, such as a pistol with a forend grip.

5. Point6liter

Point6liter New Member

If you have to fill out a 4473 on the lower have them mark it as "other item". If they mark it "rifle" and you build it as a pistol it could get you into a bind. I just built mine a few months ago, and made sure everything I was doing was legal. It must be a virgin lower, meaning never fully assembled as a rifle. And for future reference, a pistol may be turned into a rifle, but a rifle cannot be changed into a pistol. Have fun

6. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

Id like to say thats somewhat right but we ran into issues with these stripped lowers because they say rifle on the side . We could not use these for pistols and had 50 of them at one time . [​IMG]

7. TexasGunner

TexasGunner New Member

I built mine from a virgin lower that was listed as "other item" on the form 4473.

8. Mercator

Mercator Active Member

Had they been stripped from production rifles?

9. Sgt_Skrb_25

Sgt_Skrb_25 New Member