Ar parts equal?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by EagleDreamer, Sep 29, 2013.

1. EagleDreamer

EagleDreamer New Member

I am new to the AR world so bear with me. I watched a YouTube video and have read a few other places that all stripped lowers, stripped uppers, and LPKs are equally reliable. (Of course assuming they are all made from the same material, not a forged lower vs. a polymer.) One writer said there are only a few manufacturers of lower relievers and others just add their roll mark. Same with uppers and parts kits. This seems far fetched to me, but I figured I would see what you guys think.

2. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

read some of the stickys at the beginning of the AR Section. will give you lots of insight into the world of the AR.

3. AgentTikki

AgentTikki New Member

I've seen lots of reports of broken bolt catches and hammer pins, so I gotta say all lpks are not equal.

Forged 7075, billet 7075, 6061, titanium lower receivers don't really matter.....polymer on the otherhand id be wary of.

Upper recievers on the otherhand should always be as strong as possible.

4. EagleDreamer

EagleDreamer New Member

I've read a lot especially the last couple weeks and it seems people don't want to list the manufacturers good or bad. I have been more of a pistol guy but am wanting to expand.
    A lot of the companies who make these parts are mostly ar-15 type only manufacturers, so for someone like me I have never heard of the majority of these companies. I bought a DPMS lower earlier this year in the "scare times". I am now looking to build on it but am afraid of buying junk. Looking at lower parts kits I've seen CMMG, PSA, and a few others who have just parts kits, but like I said I haven't heard of any of these companies as I am new to this platform.

5. AgentTikki

AgentTikki New Member