AR info

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Saia73, Dec 21, 2013.

1. Saia73

Saia73 New Member

I am a Newbie to the whole AR world. I'm looking for dependability, best bang for buck pun intended. Not sure which direction I should travel except the caliber 5.56. Any help would.

2. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

Are you willing and able to build one your self ? What kind of shooting do you intend on doing with it ? Bench shooting or off hand ?

3. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

4. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

i would recommend reading the stickies at the beginning of this section. deciding on your needs or wants in what you expect from the AR you are wanting. decide on a budget and then proceed from there.

buy vs. build is another good point to consider. building many times allows a better AR for much less than a pre-built factory model. many times allows you to have the features you desire for much cheaper than buying one and changing things to suit your needs.

need to decide it's usage as well, as this can help define what your needs are when choosing an AR. competition, general plinking, SD, hunting or other usage.

5. Wcorker4

Wcorker4 New Member

Definitely figure out what you want and go from their. Then price of parts. I bought my a part at a time. Just started shooting out 3 weeks ago and Am very pleased with it after a round a year off building it. My goal was dependability so I went with nickel boron parts.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Firearms Talk mobile app

Attached Files:

6. Dahamp2003

Dahamp2003 New Member

What are those two things on top of your receiver rail?

7. Squawk

Squawk New Member

Lol magpul flip up sights. That's the shortest sight radius I've ever seen on an AR. You know the front sight is supposed to go on the handguard?

Lol

8. Wcorker4

Wcorker4 New Member