AR-15 NOOB here

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by ar15noob, Feb 24, 2012.

1. ar15noob

ar15noob New Member

AS you can tell I am an AR NOOB and wanted to know what is better "clean" ammo the 223 rem or 5.56 NATO? Also what are the differences I should look out for? My local dealer is horrible to talk to and folks at the range don't want to offer advice! Thanks and apologies for the naive questions. Your help is much appreciated.

2. silverado113

silverado113 New Member

The primary difference between .223 Remington and 5.56 x 45 mm is that .223 is loaded to lower pressures and velocities compared to 5.56 mm. .223 Remington ammunition can be safely fired in a 5.56 mm chambered gun, but the reverse can be an unsafe combination. The additional pressure created by 5.56 mm ammo will frequently cause over-pressure problems such as difficult extraction, flowing brass, or popped primers, but in extreme cases, could damage or destroy the rifle. Chambers cut to .223 Remington specifications have a shorter (throat) area as well as slightly shorter headspace dimensions compared to 5.56 mm "military" chamber specs, which contributes to the pressure issues. If you are looking for an AR there are a huge number of options. What is your price range?

3. Quentin

Quentin New Member

I wouldn't worry about clean ammo, go for price and see how it works in your rifle. Steel case, cheap PMC .223, etc. If your bore is 5.56 of course try that too. Small amounts of various ammo at first, you want to find out what works best and settle in on what you like.

4. ar15noob

ar15noob New Member

Price range topped at 1000 but that would like getting some optic (nothing fancy) and grip and some mags for that price. I hear Walmart has good deal on bushman m4a3 models.

5. silverado113

silverado113 New Member

6. ar15noob

ar15noob New Member