AR 15 lower choices

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by CentralFlCracker, Jan 17, 2012.

1. CentralFlCracker

CentralFlCracker New Member

I am new to AR 15 but have 10 or 12 WW11 rifles so I have been more of an old gun collector. Me and my twin boys are nearly finished building a Romanian AK 47 which proved a little harder than I thought it would. Anyhow I wanted to do a 1911 colt pistol build but boys want to build an AR 15. I have bought an upper Del-Ton and should be receiving it any day. After doing some research on AR's which I know nothing about I found Spikes Tactical is 8 miles from my house in Apopka. I need to buy a stripped lower and like the look of Spike. Since I would save freight and FFL are there stripped lowers considered pretty good? Now that I have done more research I am going to unload this one pretty quick. Next time I just want to buy the barrel and really start from scratch and get a truly customized AR. Like I said with the savings on FFL and Freight would a Spike be a good choice? Also what is a Tax Stamp?

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

Spikes would be an excellent choice for a lower!!!

3. Car54

Car54 New Member

Yes, Spikes is a good lower. A tax stamp refers to tax being paid for a NFA (National Firearm Act) regulated firearm or accessory. On a standard AR, you don't need to worry about that. For further info talk to the folks at Spikes when getting your lower. Good job teaching the boys about guns.

4. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

Spikes is an excellent choice. Ironically, the lower receiver has the smallest impact on a gun's functionality as long as it is within spec and all the holes line up. Lower quality lowers will generally suffer from fit and finish issues. More important than the lower itself are the parts you put into it. A good lower parts kit is worth the extra $30-40 you invest.

A tax stamp is what you get from the BATFE to possess NFA restricted firearms, i.e. full auto, short barrel, suppressors, etc.