AR-15 Lower Advice

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Cnynrat, Jan 17, 2009.

1. Cnynrat

Cnynrat New Member

I'm totally new to AR-15's. Along with about 1,482,548 other FNGs I've been thinking about getting a stripped lower and starting my own build. As much as anything else seems like it would be a fun project and a good learning experience.

I've found a place that has S&W M&P-15 stripped lowers for $180. I don't see too many people talking about using this lower. Any opinions about it good, bad or indifferent?

Thanks.

Dave

2. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Okay, that had me laughing out loud....

I had said it dozens of times, and I guess once more won't hurt ( :rolleyes: ) -

A receiver is a receiver is a receiver is a receiver. Unless you are getting some piece of third world pot metal crap than you can change tolerances merely by pressing hard with your fingers, IT DOESN'T MATTER whose name is on the side.

At this point in time, if you can find ANY stripped lower and YOU are comfortable with the price, I would urge you to buy it before someone else does and get the lower on the books.

Is $180 a good price for a stripped S&W Lower? No, not in my opinion, it's robbery, but that is what they are going for now that Fruitcake Incorporated have taken power and will soon be banning these "dangerous" weapons.

If you can get any lower, stripped or otherwise, I would urge you to do it unless you live in occupied Terror-Tory ( like NY, NJ, Mass or Kali ). If you don't live in one of those states, odds are very good you will be grandfathered in and will be "allowed' to keep the weapon should a new ( WHEN A NEW ) AWB comes back into place.

Finding parts kits are extremely rare right now, but in due diligence for the forum, I have sent out several e-mails to some of the top suppliers asking for updates for the forum when they have kits in for purchase. Nothing new on that yet....