Ar-15 class III build

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by jakeball, Apr 16, 2014.

1. jakeball

jakeball New Member

Looking to build a rifle with a short barrel 8-10 inches. And a thread on suppressor, with a handgaurd/rails that come 2-4 inches shy of the end of the suppressor. Im no ar expert and im new to the platform. So ill need help on what i should get. This picture is the closest i could find on what i want.

Also anyone familiar with the sig mpx carbine is what im trying to recreate on a .223.

Thanks for the help! ImageUploadedByFirearms Talk1397689998.826357.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

Before you do anything you need your sbr stamp and a properly marked lower reciever.

Once you get that done THEN you can build out your rifle.

I would suggest build it out as a pistol while your waiting on the stamp.

At 8-10" a 223/556 is going to have about the same power level as a 22wmr... pretty wimpy. I would go 300blk or use a pistol caliber upper.

Rra is what I would source the lower from and everything else bravo company usa.

Last edited: Apr 16, 2014

3. seancslaughter

seancslaughter New Member

I agree with jon on the choice of round being wimpy you should definitly think about 300 blk that round was designed for short barrel/suppressor use. Either that or use a pistol caliber like 9mm

4. jakeball

jakeball New Member

Could you give me velocity on 556/223 on a 10 inch barrel? Trying to find charts online but nada. Im not looking to go past 100 yards with rifle. Uses for this rifle are gonna be cqb drills. And plinking at distances of 50 yards in.

As you remember from my other post the mpx carbine prob wont be sold legally. If they will it wont be for some time. So i wanna have something on the back burner in the mean time, just in case.

5. JonM

JonM Moderator

Muzzle velocity is around 2300-2400fps right at the muzzle and drops rapidly as the barrel length decreases down to about 1800fps at 5".