Anybody with CPR skills

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by dragunovsks, Mar 12, 2009.

1. dragunovsks

dragunovsks New Member

Anybody else got any other skills that go with CCW? Let me explain. I, in addition to having a gun permit, also am certified to use CPR. I figured in a gun fight situation if someone I know is hit I can help them in addition to putting rounds on target.

Not to mention since I work at a limestone quarry, everyone has to know how to use CPR in a livesaving situation.

2. skullcrusher

skullcrusher New Member

I've been thru the Red Cross first aid and cpr. I have not recertified in a few years, put some of those skills you never forget. I was a lifeguard at a lake for several years while I was in school.

Some things are just good to know, ya know.

3. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

Done the Army combat life saver class CPR and advanced life support (For animals). I was a vet tech that is why the als was from. But If I shoot your azz I sure ain't tryin to fix you up.

4. matt g

matt g New Member Supporter

I'm American Heart Association BLS certified. In addition to CPR, I also know how to run an AED.

Both AHA and ARC now recommend using only chest compressions now. They no longer recommend rescue breathing.

5. dragunovsks

dragunovsks New Member

I forgot to mention that I also know how to use an AED. Our company brings in Red Cross people every couple of years and trains and recertifies everyone. It makes for an easy work day, sitting in the training room all day and getting paid for it. Plus the company buys us pizza on training days.:D

6. pioneer461

pioneer461 New Member

Because of the nature of my work, I've been certified off-and-on, since I was a Boy Scout in the 1950's. In those days, CPR consisted of laying the patient on their chest, kneeling by their head, pushing down on the chest and lifting the arms. :rolleyes:

I once took an advanced course in college, which included water rescues. Kinda cool. :cool: