Any electricians here at FTF?

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by jca1, Jun 1, 2011.

1. jca1

jca1 New Member

If so I have a question.

2. freefall

freefall New Member

I think JD is electrical.

3. Shihan

Shihan Active Member Lifetime Supporter

I am not an Electrician, but I play one on the Interwebz.:D
    [​IMG]

4. BombDoc

BombDoc New Member

What's the question? I had to learn the hard way when I remodeled the house.

5. dog2000tj

dog2000tj New Member

Fire away, maybe we can help.

6. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

I am no electrician, but I work in the power field and I have close to 20 years in the Ohms/Amperes/Resistance field.

I don't know electrical code for any area, as I have never had to have an official inspection on my work, but I know the basics.

If I can help, or if I can contact someone who can, I would be happy too.

What's the question brother??

JD

7. Jo da Plumbr

Jo da Plumbr New Member

I electrocuted myself once... does that count?

8. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

AC? or DC? or both?

Ask away!

9. jca1

jca1 New Member

I'm trying to understand AC voltage drop.

I have 6AWG copper wire (4) running 160' to my wife's outdoor kitchen.

I want to run a new 8000btu 7amp window AC, a small 2.5amp fridge/drink cooler thing, one (maybe two later) 2.7amp stand mixers, occasionally a small microwave, and now a 16 amp oven.

I have enough amps with a 60amp circuit but someone else told me voltage drop may be a problem cause the outdoor kitchen is 160' from the house.

10. Yunus

Yunus New Member

I can't speak for house voltage and my experience/advice should be taken as anecdotal (NOT SCIENTIFIC just my experience) at best.