another newb question...

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by 95sniper, Nov 3, 2013.

1. 95sniper

95sniper New Member

So I'm new to shotguns and I want to buy an over under. I basically want to know, with me only occasionally shooting clays and hunting, do I need chokes? This has really been bothering me. I have researched on the internet and cannot find an answer.

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

There are different chokes for different purposes / distances. Generally the closer the target, the more open the choke.

I have friend that installed a modified choke in his shotgun and gave the rest away.

Basic chokes are

Most open > Tightest choke

Cylinder bore. Improved cylinder. Modified. Improved Modified. Full choke

There are also specialty chokes, for skeet, buckshot, turkey, tactical, slugs, etc.

I use a cylinder bore / skeet for busting clays. Modified for pheasant. Extra full for turkey.

Last edited: Nov 3, 2013

3. 95sniper

95sniper New Member

I guess my question is do I really need a choke?

4. eatmydust

eatmydust New Member

Yes, you need a choke

If your shotgun comes with interchangeable choke tubes, you need to have the tubes installed A) to avoid ruining the end of each barrel, and B) so that you know approx. how your barrel will pattern.

If your shotgun does NOT come with interchangeable choke tubes, the choke will be fixed in each barrel and should be stamped on each barrel for your knowledge.

5. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

All modern shotguns come with interchangeable chokes. To try and find a shotgun without them will be nigh impossible.

6. 95sniper

95sniper New Member

The gun I am looking to buy doesn't have a choke, so when I shoot clays do I need a choked gun?

7. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member