american ammo vs european ammo 40

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by versatile, Apr 19, 2013.

1. versatile

versatile New Member

I was just wondering who thinks european ammo is a better value than american ammo? I been shooting PPU and S&B and it is my personal opinion that these are better than common names such as winchester, ae, speer, and blazer. even the cheap ppu fmj seem better put together than the hornady, winchester, and federal. i was just wondering how others felt about the subject. when i say better i mean feed reliability, accuracy, lower recoil, cleanliness, less nicks on the casing, well put together, and less instances of duds. i'm not including underwood, double tap, or buffalo bore because those are held to different specifications/standards. american bullets cost more and i was wondering what others thought concerning this subject.

Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  2. apwvsd40ve

apwvsd40ve New Member

I am still fairly new to handguns but have purchased PPU, Winchester, PMC, American Eagle, and herters....mine seEMS to eat everything...though Herters had a couple FTF's and a couple of cycling issues with American Eagle. I like the PPU JHP but will replace with american eventually. I buyAmerican first...always!

3. versatile

versatile New Member

I shoot what's cleanest, most reliable and accurate. These companies better start cheapening their costs and raising standards or people will go elsewhere. Would you pay more to support Amrerican made?

4. versatile

versatile New Member

I just saw the ballistics/gel test on youtube and america is better. i guess you get what you pay for. it's still really nice target ammo. i'll make it #5 for security to blast through a wall if need be. i seed them in the magazine as follows 1. underwood xtp jhp 2. underwood gd jhp 3. winchester pdx1 4. hornady critical duty 5. ppu fmj 6. federal premium....repeat twice. on the underwoods and winchester repeat 3 times.

5. robocop10mm