AK47 manufacturers?

Discussion in 'AK & SKS Discussion' started by PrimePorkchop, Sep 14, 2012.

1. PrimePorkchop

PrimePorkchop New Member

If these are newbie questions, please forgive me, for I am a newb to the AK.

My question stems from an observation i've made during my quest for more information...when people talk about AK47s...they don't seem to be talking about the manufacturer...instead I see people talking about the country of origin...

But none of the "gun sites" like buds & CTD differentiate what style of AK47 it is (chinese, russian, etc) but instead categorize them by manufacturer (Arsenal, Century Arms, etc)

Also, what kind do you think is best? My gut instinct, as a total beginner who knows nothing about it, would be to go w/ a "Russian AK" since...well...they started it...and i'm of the opinion that nothing good has ever come from China...

Is there really much difference across the spectrum? I've always thought of the AK47 as a mud gun...simple design, goes boom...i'm not saying i'm right, just my limited view on the weapon...willing to be educated before I buy my 1st.

2. Merican45

Merican45 New Member

Not really sure about what manufacturer is better or country of origin but I have a Russian saiga 5.45x39 and I love it. Really reliable and sturdy and easily modified. Several of my buddies also have the saiga in 7.62 and love it. For the money it's a great buy.

Attached Files:

3. PrimePorkchop

PrimePorkchop New Member

Thanks! 5.45 dosent stand out to me... How expensive do you find it in your area?

4. Merican45

Merican45 New Member

Got it for bout $450 before everything I did to it. Without my spam cans of ammo I'm about$1000 into it

5. PrimePorkchop

PrimePorkchop New Member

Apologies I meant the cost of the ammo :)

6. Merican45

Merican45 New Member