Advice, Please: M&P Shield 9mm vs. Ruger SR9.

Discussion in 'M&P Forum' started by dkleiner, May 7, 2014.

1. dkleiner

dkleiner New Member

Hello, all:

As you can see from my post count, I am new to this forum and rather new to the shooting world in general. My son, age 16, has been shooting for about two years with his grandfather and from what instructors tell me, he a natural. In March, I bought him a Ruger MK III 22 Target pistol. I started shooting with him and caught the bug.

After some formal instruction, I bought a CZ 75BD Police, Berretta 92FS Inox and an H&K P30, all of which are 9mm.

I live in Pennsylvania and am going to apply for a CC permit shortly. After more instruction and practice, I would like to buy a firearm specifically for this purpose. I intend to carry IWB.

I am looking at the Shield and Ruger SR 9. Both seem to fit the bill well.

Thank you for any advice or input you can give me.

Dan

P.S. It may be redundant, but I am posting this thread in the Ruger sub-forum, as well.

2. ParhfinderAFW

ParhfinderAFW New Member

Which one feels better to you? In my mind, neither has a good trigger but that can be compensated for with practice. Both are good guns, but may I suggest looking at a Glock 26? I carry one In the waistband (iwb) in a sticky holster and it is very comfortable and concealable. if you need a full grip Pearce makes grip extensions

Sent from my iPod touch using Firearms Talk

3. dkleiner

dkleiner New Member

I will look at the Glock 26, as well.

Thanks.

4. apwvsd40ve

apwvsd40ve New Member

I have the shield in 40. Love this gun. The M&P line is an incredible one. One thing to note about trigger pull in a ccw is that it may not be a bad thing to have a longer pull. With all thst said..try shooting and handling yhe options and see which one feels the best. I love my shield though!

5. frefighter627

frefighter627 New Member