Advice for this soon-to-be new handgun owner

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by new2ruger, Jan 29, 2013.

1. new2ruger

new2ruger New Member

Hey guys. I'm looking at buying a gun for personal protection that I will carry concealed (once I get the proper license, of course).

I'm seriously looking at a Ruger LCP. I checked one out at a local store and the weight and grip were very comfortable in my hands. I'm told it's important to get a gun that "feels right" but I have no experience with handguns so I really don't know how to go about choosing a gun.

So am I on the right track or is there something else I should do before purchasing this gun?

I've only fired rifles so this will be my first handgun. I have already talked to a friend who is a retired LEO about gun training and going over applicable laws and such.

Is there anything else I need to do? Also, anyone want to rec a good holster? I'm looking at the SmartCarry because undetected concealment is really important to me. I plan to carry this with me wherever legally possible and don't want to freak anyone out.

Thanks

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

Try to find a range or gun store that rents handguns and shoot as many as you can. Maybe your retired LEO friend has some you can shoot. Ask any of your friends if they have handguns you could shoot.

3. PrimePorkchop

PrimePorkchop New Member

dont' base your decision on the first gun you pick up - that might feel right, but your experience doesnt give you much to compare it to.

Follow Gatoragn's advice. Seek out a range to rent a gun, or some friends who already own them, offer to buy some ammo if your friend will let you test out his firearms (don't make the mistake of insinuating ammo is cheap...it'll lose you shooting buddies real quick) :D

You'll do yourself many many favors if you take a few extra steps now to ensure you'll get a gun you're going to be happy with later.