? About red dots

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by jeepin1990, Feb 8, 2013.

1. jeepin1990

jeepin1990 New Member

Looking for a red dot for my ar. I have no knowledge about red dots. Not looking to spend alot or anything fancy just looking to get something reliable. Thanks for any and all input.

Thanks.

2. indy36

indy36 New Member

One of the best (cost wise and ruggedness) red dots is the Vortex SPARC. Can be found online for under $200. The Vortex Strikefire is less and good as well. AimPoint and Eotec and things like that are big money but worth it. Stay away from NcStar.

3. GeneralPatton

GeneralPatton New Member

Don't buy the cheapy stuff. It is enticing for the price, but after a few sessions at the range you have more of a Red Blur than a Red Dot. I was thinking along the same lines as you and started with a BSA. Within 3 trips to the range I had the blur. Now, most people would say what I bought was cheap, but I've been using it since November and it works great. Even some of the local guys have been impressed with it's overall performance for the cost. I can't find it for sale, but I can show you the link from Ebay where I bought it:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPO-4x32-AC...D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557
    It's held perfectly tight since the original alignment. It also has a fiber-optic like on the top and it's within .25" of the recticle. Check it out. There are a few gems in the rough out there.

4. Renegade44

Renegade44 New Member

Do you have a front sight on your barrel? If so, does it interfere with the red dot?

Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
  5. GeneralPatton

GeneralPatton New Member

Mine has no iron sight. It came as a flat top. The following picture shows it, I think the day after I got it with a BSA on it. That's the one that failed after a couple range visits. But you can see it's a flat top
    [​IMG]

6. Quentin

Quentin New Member