a sophisticated heat beam called a "laser"

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by hawkguy, Aug 5, 2014.

1. hawkguy

hawkguy Well-Known Member

so, who used a laser on a pistol? (or any firearm).

i'm not looking for recommendations....just curious about your thoughts on using a laser in general. are they easy to use? fast? accurate? visible?

anyone here a big fan of using lasers? anyone here think they are a waste of time and money? i have NO experience.

this video made me interested. skip to about 3:00 for the short version (4:30 for the shooting part).

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHw_3ygZrbM[/ame]

Last edited: Aug 5, 2014
  2. hawkguy

couldn't resist......

Attached Files:

3. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

i can see where they could be a useful training tool to help people with learning to shoot accurately.

batteries have a finite lifespan. be sad to put so much faith in something to have it not work when you needed it most.

as an aid to help improve shooting skills, or an addition to supplement your fundamental skills, i can see it being an asset. but total reliance upon a gimmick rather that learning the fundamentals of shooting and using sights, i see it as less than effective and a liability.

4. hawkguy

this is kind of what i expected to hear. that makes perfect sense.

have you ever used them, axxe? what was your overall impression? my only experience was with a friends laser on his glock....a friend who didn't know how to sight his in.....heh. :p

if i got one, i would never substitute it for shooting with my standard sights. i would practice both of course. but the idea is appealing to me at the moment.