80% lower build

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by aruiz42, Oct 7, 2013.

1. aruiz42

aruiz42 New Member

My one on this site done it yet? If you don't know what it is it's basically the following in the most simple terms
    - a non registered legal to buy lower ( no FFL needed shipped right to your door)
    -it's about 80% complete you just need to drill out all the parts using a jig you also buy... There is supposedly tutorials out there and most of them come with instructions
    - legal to own not sell according to ATF

I just want to know how hard it is to a complete novice... Didn't find anything using the search from the app...

2. fsted2a

fsted2a Active Member

If you just want one for yourself, it is a pretty expensive proposition. Much cheaper to buy a stripped lower. I built one last year that the parts would fit in, but it was too ugly for me to put a picture of the build on the forum. I might try it again in the future. Takes a lot of patience, and be prepared to go through a few drill bits. You need plenty of work space, and a lot of time for your first one. Just trying to give you a heads up.

3. aruiz42

aruiz42 New Member

Trying to make a project with my friend... Is a milling machine necessary or a drill and a lot of bits good enough?

4. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

Drill press for sure , not sure how well a hand drill would work. If you have access to a mill , the tooling and know how to run it properly it will make your job much easier

5. Yunus

Yunus New Member

polymer 80% lowers exist and are much easier to work with. I've seen youtube videos that claim they can be complete in under 90 minutes.

I've never personally seen or worked with one just watched a video.

6. fsted2a

fsted2a Active Member

Yeah, I saw the vid as well. Might try one.

7. aruiz42

aruiz42 New Member