7mm-08 hunting bullet?

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by Apex-Predator, Mar 30, 2013.

1. Apex-Predator

Apex-Predator New Member

I am new to 7mm-08 and need some help picking a bullet to use, I have a few that have grouped well for me and wanted some input on what you would use for smallish southern whitetail.
    120gr Pro Hunter, 3100fps shoots one ragged hole at 100yards with H380
    140gr Game King 2900fps shooting .75" with Big Game
    150gr Nosler Ballistic Tip shooting 2750fps and .75" groups
    160gr Deep Curl, 2600fps shooting just under an inch
    I have always used pretty heavy for caliber bullets in the past but that little 120gr is confidence inspiring and alot of fun to shoot with it's near zero recoil, but I have alot of faith in the terminal performance of the Ballistic Tips and Game Kings seeing as that is what I have used alot in the past, and the newfangled Deep Curl is fascinating with it's huge expansion but even pushing the limits is kinna slow in the little 7mm-08.
    Deer around here are on the smallish side and shots will be close for the most part, all of ours were within 200yards last year, and the largest one was around 170lbs.

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

140 grain Hornady SST, I use the 150 in my 308.

3. Apex-Predator

Apex-Predator New Member

Funny that you should mention the 139gr SST (yes it is 139 and not 140gr) because that was the bullet I planned on using, but sadly my rifle HATES that bullet and won't even keep me on the paper at 100yd with it, does not like the 154gr SST either. That Browing is very bullet picky I have tried a dozen bullets in it with as many powders. My 30-06 and 308 both like the 150gr SSTs though.

4. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member

They don`t call em Game Kings for nothing................

5. JimRau

JimRau Well-Known Member Supporter

It looks like you have a 'keeper' with this rifle!:cool: