357 to bring along deer hunting

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by reloader97, Jun 2, 2012.

1. reloader97

reloader97 New Member

I have my mind set on a ruger sp101. The barrel lengths available are 2.25 3ish or 4.2. Which of the 3 would be best to finish of a deer. I am new to this sight so im sorry for asking so many questions

2. jordan89

jordan89 New Member

Well, the sp101 is a great gun. I have one. It is very accurate with the right ammo. But if you are going to use this gun just for deer hunting I suggest you look into the ruger gp100. They offer a nice .357 wheelgun with the option for a longer barrel than the sp101(6inches). But if I had to pick one of barrel lengths you mentioned I would take the 4.2.

3. reloader97

reloader97 New Member

I want to keep the weight down so that it does not make me not want to carry it

4. ineverFTF

ineverFTF New Member

The 4.2in barrel on an sp will not be that heavy. My grandpa has a 44. Super redhawk 6in barrel and really its not bad, 4.2in wont be a problem

5. reloader97

reloader97 New Member

I'll have to keep an eye out for one the only ones I have seen locally are with the 2.25 and 3 1\16

6. ineverFTF

ineverFTF New Member

The 3in would be ok if you can hit a 3in target from 25yards consistently

7. reloader97

reloader97 New Member

Do you know if the sights are adjustable on the 3in model?

8. ineverFTF

ineverFTF New Member

I dont but all the info should be on rugers website

9. reloader97

reloader97 New Member

The we sight says they are not many smith & Wesson has one like this with adjustable sight. Thank you for the help

10. reloader97

reloader97 New Member

That came out way wrong

11. ineverFTF

ineverFTF New Member

You cant go wrong with a s&w, are you on a budget? I would with ruger, colt, then s&w

12. reloader97

reloader97 New Member

500 dollars is the maximum I will pay

13. reloader97

reloader97 New Member