300 blk rifle or Pistol

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Kwaynebb, Feb 29, 2016.

1. Kwaynebb

Kwaynebb New Member

Just looking for a few of your personal opinions between the 300 blk rifle or pistol.

I've never even held an AR pistol so I have zero experience and therefor nothing to compare to.

Ultimately I do want to suppress so I am leaning on side of a pistol given the weight difference and lack of a 22" trunk sticking out in front of me, but even with that I am still torn.

2. Dallas53

Dallas53 Well-Known Member

just basing my answers on my own preferences, I would build one in a rifle or carbine configuration, simply because I just am not a fan of AR platformed pistols personally. they just don't suit me.

I would probably go a carbine with a suppressor myself. of course if going the carbine direction, if you are considering a suppressor, you might also consider going the SBR route as well to keep it more compact.

in my opinion there are much better pistols that are suppressed than a 300 Blackout in an AR pistol. but that is just my thoughts on it.

3. mjtx88

mjtx88 New Member

I built a 10.5" pistol as the round works great in a short barrel. Recoil is minimum so a stock isn't even needed. Whichever way you go, get a pistol gas system. People seem to have less issues with cycling, with a pistol gas system as opposed to a carbine.

ImageUploadedByFirearms Talk1456797224.174388.jpg

4. Kwaynebb

Kwaynebb New Member

I'm definitely open to opinions of better rounds.

The purpose of this is for knocking down yotes and hogs here in north Texas. That being said either one would work just fine, but it's my understanding that the 300 performs best out of a short suppressed barrel.

As far as other calibers go, I haven't researched too many. Just got swept up by the popularity of the 300. I like that complete uppers are affordable even though ammo might be a little pricey.

5. JCS53

JCS53 That looks like it hurt Lifetime Supporter