.280 questions

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by robertwc, Apr 15, 2013.

1. robertwc

robertwc New Member

When I buy rounds for my .280 I see on the box that they are suitable for use in 7 mm express Remington. Is it suitable to go in reverse?

2. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

Yes, they are the same ammo. The .280 is simply a 30-06 necked to a 7MM. A damn fine cartridge.

3. smarquez

smarquez New Member

I think I heard there was a little identity crisis/confusion with the 7MM Remington Mag so Remington re designated it .280 Remington. It's what I shoot. I went .280 to be a little different.

4. TLuker

TLuker New Member

Great question. This is the rare exception when the two actually are the exact same cartridge. The .280 is what my dad shoots and it is a great cartridge.:)

5. robertwc

robertwc New Member

Thanks. I am new to multiple gun ownership and am trying to learn as much as possible.

6. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

Remington offered the .280 Remington in 1962 to compete with the popular .270 Winchester. Problem, they offered it in the Remington 740 Semi-Auto. They had to offer a .280 loaded below the bolt action pressures of the .270.
    In 1979 they renamed it but continued loading to a lower pressure round. The 7MM Express lasted one year. The Remington 7MM-08 was released and the .280 Remington entered into cartridges of the past.:(

7. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Nitestalker is correct, except it lasted from 1979-1981 from what i determined and they went back to calling it the 280 Remington. the 280 Remington and the 7mm Express are the same cartridge, just different names. in 1979, Remington wanted to revive interest in the 280 Rem., so with some clever marketing, they renamed it the 7mm Express. problem was, that people confused it with the 7mm Rem. Mag., so after two years, they went back to using the name 280 Remington.