.22lr upper

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by rodl, Feb 23, 2014.

1. rodl

rodl New Member

Has anyone here built there own 22 upper? I am researching 22 uppers and the good ones seem to be rather pricey. CMMG gets good reviews, but they are pushing $600 or more. For that amount of $ I think I would like to build one and get exactly what I want in terms of handguards and sights etc. I was just wondering if anyone has gone through this process already.

2. clr8ter

clr8ter New Member

That's an interesting question. Not that I'm an expert or anything, but I have not seen 22 upper parts, only complete uppers.

3. MisterMcCool

MisterMcCool Well-Known Member Supporter

Everything is the same as a .223/5.56 upper except for the bolt carrier group.

4. 762

762 Member

why not just get one of the conversion kits? you could buy a complete 556 upper and a cmmg conversion kit with a few mags for $600. PSA always has some sort of good deal on an upper.

5. clr8ter

clr8ter New Member

The barrel has to be different, too. What about the buffer and springs?

6. texaswoodworker

texaswoodworker New Member

7. 762

762 Member

Barrel is fine. Very little difference in .223 or 556 barrel and a .22 barrel. The buffer and spring is contained in the drop in assembly. You can even use the same charging handle.

A conversion kit can be had for less than 200 bucks with a mag.

8. clr8ter

clr8ter New Member

So you're telling me you can use a barrel with a 5.56 chamber to shoot a 22LR?

9. Ez2b

Ez2b New Member

Yes......

One
    Big
    Ass
    Mistake
    America

10. clr8ter

clr8ter New Member

Someone's gonna have to explain that.

11. Sniper03

Sniper03 Supporting Member Supporter

rodl,