. 22lr conversion, how simple is it really?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by aikimo, Aug 4, 2013.

1. aikimo

aikimo New Member

I am new to ar15s, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question, but i just read about a 'simple' . 22lr conversion. Is this true? Have any of you done a 22 conversion on your AR? Any issues with cycling the weapon? Any suggestions on whose conversion kit to buy? To stay away from?

Thanks
    Mo

2. JackieBrown13

JackieBrown13 New Member

Why not just buy a .22lr dedicated ar15 style rifle?

3. hkhunter

hkhunter New Member

I had a CMMG conversion it is just a drop in in place of your bolt. You also need their mag to feed the bullets. It works fine. I rather a straight 22 instead. There are several conversion kits. Mine was less than $200

4. GTX63

GTX63 New Member

You can purchase a dedicated 22lr AR 15 such as a Mossberg for $300 and up. S&W make one for about $500 and I own a Colt. The swapouts are not difficult and are cheaper; I just preferred to have the extra rifle on the bench ready to go.

5. 180baseball

180baseball New Member

Like hkhunter said, you remove the takedown pins then drop out the 5.56/.223 bolt and put the .22lr bolt. Many manufacturers make .22lr AR15 mags, and your conversion most likely comes with some magazine. If your really into hi cap mags, check out black dog mags, they make 50 round drums for the .22lr AR15

6. aikimo

aikimo New Member

Thanks guys. I just bought a Bushmaster xm15 in 556/223. So the conversion makes a lot more sense for me in terms of $$.

7. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

It will literally take u less than 30 seconds to change between .223 and .22lr

8. Palms

Palms Member

Who's conversión do you recommend? Should it fit any AR?

9. 180baseball

180baseball New Member

I have has the best results with CMMG, Ciener is also good but customer service is C+ at best. Best bet would be CMMG. Also take a look at Stag Arms... Great quality

10. purehavoc