223 Wolf Ammo

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by raiderman74, May 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raiderman74

raiderman74 New Member

I'm a newbie to shooting and I'm hooked. I just complete my first AR with Delton M4 upper and TM lower. I used PSA lower kit . Will there be an issue using this ammo in my AR?

2. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Can't be sure now. You'll have to buy a small amount and try it out.

3. fireguy

fireguy New Member

Buy a box and run it through it. If you like the way it runs and cleans afterward you can buy a larger amount then. The black box Wolf is produced in a different factory than the Wolf Military classic. I think the Military classic is a better round, not as dirty and seems more consistent. That said, I'm trying to use up all the cheap stuff I've bought over the years and replacing with brass cased ammo when it is on sale.

4. Fixer

Fixer New Member

DTi has an oversized gas port on most carbine barrels. Some people say thats "overgassed",.... some people say its correctly gasses for all types of ammo. The mil-spec gas port has issues with cheap ammo, low power ammo. Most commercial barrel manufacturers adjust the size to account for civilian ammo. DTi is one of them.

5. okdonk

okdonk New Member

My DD eats Wolf but spits Tula. Dont know why ;(. Since they are both cheap & Russian made.
    Yes, buy 1-3 boxes to try them out. A box of Wolf only costs around $5 or less. A reminder, those ammo are dirtier tho.

6. 70cuda383

70cuda383 Member

Twice, I've had the bolt skip over the top of the round and fail to feed while using the steel case russian ammo. a quick re-rack of the charging handle and it was running again.

only ever happened with cheap russian steel case ammo. and that's twice out of maybe 500 rounds used.

7. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member