.223 re-sizing die question

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by Professor, Dec 24, 2013.

1. Professor

Professor New Member

To start with, I'm new to reloading. I've reloaded a few thousand pistol cartridges and am now attempting rifle cartridges for the first time. I have all kinds of equipment (given to me by the widow of an old gentleman I was friends with). I already have a (used) Hornady .223 full-length resizing die as well as a RCBS neck-only .223 die. Because my brass comes from various sources, I feel I should use the full length die. I am still at the familiarization stage and not ready to begin the reloading operation. I installed the die in the press and selected a few once-fired cases. The die was installed per the Hornady directions. I noticed that the cases (all of them) are extremely difficult to extract and I'm actually having to "muscle" it out of the die. I suspect there is a problem with the die....because the die is used (and I can't talk to the former owner) I don't trust it. This can't be right. My plan is to send the die back to Hornady for inspection, etc. In the meantime, I'm thinking I should get a NEW die and start from new. I realize I'll probably get lots of different opinions, but can anyone suggest a good full length die for a beginner? (By the way, I also found a brand new Hornady .223 seating die.....the sizing die is used (found inside a 2 die Hornady plastic case) but the seating die was missing from the plastic case and there is a brand new Hornady seating die in a sealed clear plastic package.

Last edited: Dec 24, 2013
  2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Of course you are using some lube on the cases.

Without it, you run the risk of case head separation. Should that happen, you may have to purchase a new die.

Usually, carbide dies do not need lube, but with using a used die, it may not be carbide.

3. Professor

Professor New Member