.223 - 5.56 nato

Discussion in 'Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion' started by SPLrifleman, Feb 23, 2013.

1. SPLrifleman

SPLrifleman New Member

I'm new to the ar I'm told I can load and shoot each without a problem but since I don't know what the differences are in the to I'm not just gonna grab some ammo and fire it

2. rjd3282

rjd3282 New Member

There are those that say you can't shoot 5.56 from a 223 chamber. Personally I haven't had anyone explain it to me that makes sense. Some say 5.56 is loaded hotter than 223 but if you look you can find 223 ammo that is faster than 5.56 ammo with the same bullet. Only one way to do that and that's add more powder/pressure. Dimensionally it is the same ammo. Then there are some that say 5.56 uses thicker brass but after extensive testing myself, the two cases weigh exactly the same. Both hold the same amount of water. Then there's the people that say the 223 chamber has a shorter throat and it causes the 5.56 ammo to spike pressures. Again demsionally the same so if it doesn't spike with 223 ammo I don't know how it will spike with 5.56. Also many reloaders adjust the OAL to get the bullet closer to the lands to make it more accurate. I guess they shouldn't do that? The only thing I've ever seen different between 5.56 and 223 is they crimp the primers on the nato stuff.

Flame away. :)

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

We have talked this over several times here. In a nutshell-

They are similar, not the same- just as 7.62 NATO and .308 Winchester.

The 5.56 is loaded a bit hotter, but the real difference is in the chamber. In some cases, it can be unsafe to shoot 5.56 in a rifle marked .223. The .223 has a tighter chamber. You can shoot .223 ammo in a 5.56 rifle, but not 5.56 in a .223 rifle.

Exception- there is a chamber called .223 Wylde that goes either way. And Ruger firearms are made to go either way, even if it says .223.