.22 Semi-Auto over Bolt Action?

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by Wheelspin, Dec 9, 2009.

1. Wheelspin

Wheelspin New Member

Ok guys, like I said in introductions I'm a newbie here with a couple of questions for the experienced rifle users among you...

I'm looking to buy my first gun soon and I've pretty much decided on a .22lr rifle for target shooting at the local range. I've been reading up and comparing models and it seems the Ruger 10/22 would be most peoples choice but my question is what are the pros and cons of a Bolt Action rifle over a Semi Auto like the Ruger I'm looking at?

The improved speed and ease of use of the Semi Auto seems to be the obvious advantage but am I missing something with a bolt action? Are they more reliable? durable? Does the bolt action make you slow down and in turn achieve better accuracy?

Or am I looking and trying to compare two completely different rifles meant for different jobs.

Thanks in advance for any replies and wisdom.

2. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Unless you're a PUREST, get the semi-auto.

If you are like the rest of us in the bell curve, auto is the way to go.

Bolt guys are disabled from birth. If your right hand doesn't jerk and go in search of a metal phallus each time you fire a long gun your good to go with a semi.

3. GatorDude

GatorDude New Member

The Bolt Action will make you take your time and make every shot count. A Semi-Auto .22 will eventually lead you to a highly modified Honda Civic with a fin and a tin can muffler... :D