22 case rupture

Discussion in 'FirearmsTalk Support and Suggestions' started by Justin H, Sep 23, 2020.

1. Justin H

Justin H New Member

my High Standard Citation did this to a case today.
    the case was halfway out the breach, the bullet was lodged halfway down the barrel.
    there is a good firing pin strike on the case.
    new Winchester ammo.
    already shot 130 rounds of it when this occurred.
    case pulled out by hand but had to remove barrel and drive out bullet.
    the gun was cleaned before I started shooting today.
    I have had this gun for 40 years and shot thousands of round thru it. I have had High Standard replace the firing pin 10 years ago 22 shell case.JPG

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Well-Known Member Supporter

Welcome to the FTF covey.

Good catch.

I had my first and only squib a few months ago. I was using Winchester Subsonic ammo in my Taurus TX22 and my suppressor was installed at the time. The gun made an unusual noise and I suddenly had dirty, gritty hands. I cleared the gun and found a ruptured case. Since I had already been at the range for a couple of hours, I boxed up my stuff and went home. I disassembled the pistol and could not see light when I held the barrel up to light. I obtained a brass rod and drove the bullet out. The lead separated from the copper jacket. The jacket came out when I forced a brass brush through the barrel.

I believe for whatever reason, I experienced an out of battery detonation.

I will not shoot anymore Winchester Subsonic ammo.

Anytime the detonation of a bullet sounds weak, stop and check for squibs.

Last edited: Sep 23, 2020
    7point62, primer1 and Rifling82 like this.

3. Justin H

Justin H New Member

4. Gatoragn

Is there some peening of the metal on the right corner of the bolt face, or just "gunk", camera angle shadow, etc.?

5. Justin H

Justin H New Member