20 MM ammo can vs house fire

Discussion in 'Firearm Accessories & Gear' started by John_Deer, Dec 23, 2012.

1. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

I know any ammo stored in a 20 MM ammo can will be lost during a house fire. My question is will the 20 mm ammo can prevent brass and other shrapnel for hitting me or a fireman in the event the ammo does explode?

If someone finds a good link (.edu, gov) stating the can will work please paste it in this thread.

Last edited: Dec 23, 2012
  2. bluez

bluez Well-Known Member

Last edited: Dec 24, 2012

3. lbwar15

lbwar15 New Member

As a former firefighter I can say ammo is nothing to worry about in a fire. Don't let tv trick you.

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

if your fighting a fire ammo isnt the issue unless there is 50bmg or blackpowder involved. 50bmg cartridges have enough strength in the brass and enough mass in the bullet and enough friction between bullet and case to make it a mini-bomb. and blackpowder is just plain old fashioned explosive

i dont store my bp near the rest of anything i care about.

5. hmh

hmh New Member

Nssf has a youtube channel and several months ago they had a video made for firefighters about ammo. It is a non issue.

6. sirhc

sirhc New Member

It may be nothing to worry about, but the sound of it going off was enough to make you weak in the knees.
    The same with the tires during a car fire. They would get me everytime.

7. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

At least the ammo will be in one place well in two places. I will have a little piece of mind knowing the ammo is tucked away in a can.

8. ResidentialPyro

ResidentialPyro New Member

All that ammo going up in flames, being crushed, or shot at almost brought tears to my eyes.

9. lbwar15

lbwar15 New Member

I've only herd ammo going off 1 time. And that was after we had the fire under control and already took of our SCBA's. I guess because I was focused on other things.