Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by cottorone, Nov 30, 2012.

1. cottorone

cottorone New Member

Ok I'm new to this post but I really wanna get a 1911. I was thinking of either a Springfield or a Remington. What do you guys think?

2. NotMormon

NotMormon Member

Either way, you are good to go. I'd take the springer as they have a great CS reputation. Get the mil-spec if you go springer. I really like the finish on the r1 though.

3. rhyno13

rhyno13 New Member

Both are good choices however I would lean towards the Springfield

4. cottorone

cottorone New Member

Not to sound silly but is there a difference in parkerized or stainless.

5. NotMormon

NotMormon Member

Yes. Stainless does not require a rust preventative as it will not rust easily. The 4100 steel (not stainless) needs to be parkerized, blued or coated to prevent rust. BTW, welcome to the forum!

6. limbkiller

limbkiller New Member

Yes there is a major difference. A parked finish is an applied finish like painting. SS is SS steel polished to a high gloss.

Parked.
    [​IMG]

SS
    [​IMG]

7. Powersportgiant

Powersportgiant New Member

Springfield ALL day. You will not be disappointed in a nice Springfield.

8. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

OMG-------

If you can swing it get the Springer-
    If not the Remmie will certainly be a good choice too ---

9. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

Parkerizing is a method of building up a crystaline structure on the surface of the metal through using a phosphoric acid bath. It is kind of a controlled rusting / chemical reaction. The crystaline structure then works to trap oil and hold it on the metal to protect it.

Stainless steel is a different alloy than carbon steel.

10. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Get the Springer. (Or a Colt) [​IMG]

11. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....