1911 rails

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by AznZOhAn, Jul 18, 2011.

1. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

I have a Springfield 1911 A1 loaded, and I want to put a full length rail on it. Is their a way I can put a full length rail on it.

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

what do you want a rail for?? typically you dont use full length rails on semi autos. they use under the frame in front of the trigger guard rails.

3. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

I work in law enforcement and I want mount a Tac light on it.

4. jpattersonnh

jpattersonnh Active Member

What is your other hand doing?? Lights only let the bad guy know where you are. Better get glasses.

5. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

Holding mags or cuffs

6. jpattersonnh

jpattersonnh Active Member

No! take care of the task at hand. I'm Not a LEO. But if my gun is drawn, I'm not in need of cuffs at the moment. Are you for real?? Get some night sights. .45acp for a police weapon, doubt it.

7. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

No, I just think it looks pretty, but I am LEO.

8. JonM

JonM Moderator

there are no gunsmith addon rails that clamp to the trigger guard. here is one version: Tick Rail Mount for the 1911

best to not do it as a permenant mod because your gonna find that rails on handguns suck.

being former mp its better to not have the light on a weapon. i used to use a full size maglight because it could serve multiple roles. functions as a light or club or as a thrown weapon. its not good form to point a gun at someone just cuz thats where you stupidly put the light. but thats my opinion.

if you REALLY want one go for it just dont do a permanent mod cuz you will regret it later when you got some experience using it.

just my two primer worth

9. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

I've been in law enforcement for 7 years, and trust me I know what I'm doing with my pistol. I carry a Glock 22 on duty, not 45. I just want it for looks.

10. JonM

JonM Moderator