1911 Purchase

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by Ara, Sep 23, 2012.

1. Ara

Ara New Member

Greetings-

I am a newbie, so please excuse any questions that may sound ignorant / pathetic.

I know this question has been asked a few thousand times on most 1911 forums... But I'm having a very tough time making a decision and would like your expertise

I want to purchase a 1911 and can not decide on a brand.

So far, I've shot over 5 different 1911's and have managed to narrow my decision down to 3 brands. Springfield (I can't recall the model, it was a bare bone stainless model), kimber stainless 2, and the smith and Wesson stainless model (I believe this is a somewhat basic model with target sights).

I've shot a sig and a rock island armory and wasn't to excited with the feel of the pistol.

I live in California. My budget is in the 1000-1200 range.

The 1911 will primarily be used at the range, of course it would act as a self defense weapon of needed.

I've read a ton of mixed reviews about kimbers. Same with SW's Some experts love it, other can't stand the name!

I would like to know your thoughts / recommendations on the 3 brand.

Things that might matter to me are:

- Stainless - I definitely want an SS model
    - Beaver tail
    - Skeleton trigger
    - trigger weight in the 4-5 lbs range
    - Serrated grip sides (not sure if I'm using the right term, I'm referring to the serrations on the sides of the handle)
    - Sights - I prefer target sight (not a deal breaker)
    - Maintenance - something fairly straight forward for a newbie

I don't really care much for lights/laser add Ons

Your thoughts / opinions are highly appreciated

Best,

Ara

2. gollygee

gollygee New Member