10mm Reloading Problem

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by Brad_CCW, Dec 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brad_CCW

Brad_CCW New Member

I'm fairly new to reloading but my 45 and 40 reloads are working great so far. I'm loading my 10mm pretty hot, cause that's the point of a 10mm, but they aren't as hot as the factory ammo from Underwood. I'm putting 9 grains of IMR 700x with 165 grain bullets.

Anyway, when I shoot them the end of the brass separates right around the base of the bullet. So I wind up with a little ring of brass at the end of the chamber that comes out easily with a cleaning brush. I reloaded some nickle plated casings and they aren't doing this. Most of the brass is from Underwood. I think the nickle plated are Remington. Someone suggested my bullets may be seated too deep but the OAL is just a hair under the length of the Underwood ammo. The powder is quite full in the casing so I'm wondering if a couple grains are getting between the bullet and the casing. Any ideas?

2. NotMormon

NotMormon Member

What brand of bullet are you using? Using your calipers, what is the measurement of bullet diameter? What firearm are you firing your reloads from? What is your COAL?

3. Brad_CCW

Brad_CCW New Member

I finally dug up some 700-X load data for 10mm. Looks like I'm loading significantly hotter than recommended. I have shot some loads around 9.0 grains that didn't seperate though. I'm using an all steel EAA with a fully supported chamber. They state 6.4 grains as the max load. I guess I can try 8.0 gr.

4. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

If they say 6.4 is max then it is MAX. Loading 8 (or even 9) grains is ill advised, some would say just plain stupid. The EAA Witness has a reputation for cracking frames in 10mm. Probably from people shooting overloaded ammo.

5. Anna_Purna

Anna_Purna New Member