Why Not Get a Colt LE6920?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by henryfrank, Oct 26, 2013.

1. henryfrank

henryfrank New Member

I am almost made up on which AR-15 I am going to get first and am looking very strongly at the Colt LE6920 with Magpul furniture. However, I am very new to the AR world so want to know what reasons there are not to get it and what I should get instead. Is this a good option?

So far, the only con I can see is the carbine-length gas system. How big of a downside is this? Is there anything else I'm missing?

Please note that I cannot build an AR in my current situation.

Thank you!

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

nothing wrong with the colt. my pref is for the bcm guns. no building necessary. find a complete lower slap a bcm upper on it.

my only beef with colt is they dont come in midlength. i just prefer the smoother recoil impulse of the midlength. to me its noticable.

3. henryfrank

henryfrank New Member

Is the Daniel Defense any better? It's about $200 more for the DD V7.

4. Dahamp2003

Dahamp2003 New Member

In my opinion, Id go DD Mid length, Colt, then whatever else. Mid length is nice, but isnt a bad thing if you get a carbine. That is how they were designed I believe.

5. Argyle_Armoring

Argyle_Armoring New Member

Colt, BCM, and Daniel Defense all make great rifles. They're all great choices.

6. Dahamp2003

Dahamp2003 New Member

Forgot about BCM. Scratch that. DD, BCM, then Colt. Negligible difference though really. Imo. Also, I know you said no building, but Im just curious as to why? Time? Tools?

7. Argyle_Armoring

Argyle_Armoring New Member

You know.....I build and sell rifles for a living. Just saying. :cool:

8. p35bhp55

p35bhp55 New Member

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAR-15