Quick Special Forces Question

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by Benning Boy, Jul 24, 2009.

1. Benning Boy

Benning Boy New Member

Back in the day, an S.F. guy told me when you completed the course, you needed "the three R's".

You needed the ring (I took it to mean an S.F. ring, as I got an Infantry ring when I graduated), the Rolex ( the epitome of a professional's watch at the time), and the third "R" was a field knife. I want to say it was a Randall, but can't remember, hence the question.

Anybody know what I'm talking about?

2. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Randall. ( or a Russell for purists)

However, the 3 things for a SEASONED member of Special Forces-

Star sapphire ring, Seiko watch, at least one divorce. :rolleyes:

3. IGETEVEN

IGETEVEN New Member

Why yes BB I do. ;) Short answer the knife is a Yarborough knife. It is to distinguish the graduate as a recognized member as a warrior in the Special Forces. The 3rd 'R' really represents R-E-S-P-E-C-T, hence the significance of the knife. Really it stands for Reeves, the original maker of the knife, General William P. Yarborough, who the knife is named after, played a big part in the origination of the special forces. Earlier SF guys carried Demo pocket knives.

That knife was the last item presented in my final phase 'Q' course graduation. Along with the Yarborough knife, beret recognition and my SF tab, next group selection and team assignment orders.

P.S. and Shooter is correct about the d-i-v-o-r-c-e thing, also.

Jack

Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  4. Benning Boy

Benning Boy New Member

C3, do you possess the palm pistol in your avatar? (Droooolzzz)

5. c3shooter

Nope- wish I did have a Chicago- but I DO have some ammo for one- caliber 32 Protector. The cartridge case is about 1/3 of an inch long, and they were loaded with 4 grains of BP. They quit making the ammo in 1917.

6. Benning Boy

Benning Boy New Member