Newbie here

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by UlicniTrkac, Nov 14, 2013.

1. UlicniTrkac

UlicniTrkac New Member

Hello to everyone

I do this for a hobby - it all started with fixing and improving airguns, but now I have moved on on firearms :D

recently, I got a sandblasting cabinet, and a 12 gallon compressor, that works on 5 bar.
    I want to blast a Tok in 9mm, to have a satin finish, but I don't want to use sand - way too dirty - and I am looking to steel beads instead.
    My question is, to what size of the abrasive should I look for? Tried with soda today, no luck.

Any tips are welcome (steel beads are available to me, the rest of the abrasives isn't that easy to acquire).

2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired

Have and FFL and business license ready for display.

3. orangello

orangello New Member

My nephew's FFL buddy fixed a few problems with my AMT Lightning pistol (think Ruger Mark knock-off) and put a bit of weld in the frame to fix a shoddy factory weld to salve my mind. The welding discolored the frame a bit and gave him an excuse to blast it for cosmetic reasons; they told me he used walnut shells (I wasn't there). I can't tell it was ever discolored and it shot great when I test drove it.

Make sure to preserve that serial number; Nanny Sam might get curious.

edit* This place has various media: http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200336039_200336039 They have a $20 size if you just want to try it out.

Before and after pics really sell a thread. :)

Last edited: Nov 14, 2013
  4. UlicniTrkac

UlicniTrkac New Member

Just to add, I am not from the US :D

5. orangello

orangello New Member

Oops! That could make shipping from Northern Tool a little more expensive.

I guess that explains how you got a 9mm Tok. They have become harder to find here. :(

You type English very well by the way. :D

edit* There are some Canadians and Australians and British on here, if you look around. Maybe they would know a source if you PM them.