new to the ar industry

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by remington7mm, Feb 7, 2011.

1. remington7mm

remington7mm New Member

im looking to purchase an ar, however i dont know what im looking for in one of these, all i know is they are just flat out awsome. can someone recomend a decent all around ar that wont need to many mods out of the the box, and i can just shoot the **** out of?

2. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Three letters BCM or for the short answer, two letters, DD.

Bravo Company Man. makes great rifles that can take whatever you can bring then laugh at you and beg for more. The same goes for Daniel Defence. DD makes everything in house. They both make warfighter quality stuff. BCM would probably your most economical option although DD does have sales now and then.

3. Yunus

Yunus New Member

I'm not an AR expert but I can tell you a few questions that they will ask you.

What's your purpose/goal for this rifle?
    Home Defense
    Zombies (meaning SHTF kinda situation)
    Hunting
    Competition
    Plinking/target
    other?

What's your budget?

I think your going to find that most AR's you can shoot the S*** out of right out of the box but you should take some time to think about why you want it and decide what features/mods you want on your AR before you spend money on it. I'm in the process of building an AR, I bought the lower for cheap, got a 2 stage Rock River trigger and when I get the money I'm going to get a Rock River Upper already assembled. The reviews I have read from this board and others have been very positive and they are at a good price point for me.

4. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Blasphemy. There are no other boards. :eek:

5. JonM

JonM Moderator

rock river arms makes really nice affordable quality AR15's.

whatever AR you get i would start with a 5.56 chamber. if your choice is target shooting maybe a .223 chamber but your limiting yourself to shooting name brand commercial loads unless you make your own.