mid range rifle build? ar 10 or bolt rifle 6.5 556???

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by combateffective4, Aug 29, 2013.

1. combateffective4

combateffective4 New Member

hey guys i wana build a mid range rifle. i would love to be able to reach out as far as possible (maybe 300-800 yds) and realise it takes skill to go out farther and would like to learn these skills.
    i was thinking to build a ar 10 or a ar 15 varient maybe a 6.5 or 762
    im new to all these rounds and dont really know how far each can reach.
    i wouldnt mind buying a semi auto rifle.
    My price range for buying a rifle would be around 700$
    i know that probably leaves me around a bolt action but what all do you reccomend im looking for something very accurate.

if i build this rifle i can spend more over time more then the 700$

whats advantage of 6.5 or 308??
    how far can a 556 go out of a 18 or 20 in barrel

ive always wanted a SCAR
    should i just save the money?

2. combateffective4

combateffective4 New Member

whats the least 338 expensive i can buy?

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

the issue with anything over 30-06 is the price of ammo. even reloading most of the big calibers doesnt make it terribly affordable.

i would recomend a 308 or 5.56/223 to learn with. it will allow you to buy more ammo to shoot or more components to reload.

difficulty in shooting at distance increases exponentially with the further out you go. it isnt like shooting at 800 yards is 8 times as hard as 100 its more like 800 times as hard. working your way up and getting tot he point of shooting CONSISTANTLY moa at each 100 yard graduation is the goal you should set for yourself.

to be a good shooter your really should look at getting into loading your own as the only factory ammo that comes close to consistant results shot for shot is something like black hills match. factory ammo cannot compete with someone who is taking their time at making quality ammunition with good components.