Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > What does a citizen drawing their gun represent?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2010, 01:42 AM   #41
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I am a ccw instructor in NC. I must stress, the law varies greatly in all states as to "brandishing" , "Public Display" , and Assault by pointing a firearm. In North Carolina, it is a crime to Point a pistol at another person, loaded or unloaded, for any reason, even in Fun. It is a misdemeanor. It is not against the law to put your hand on your weapon, Police in every state do it most times when they approach a car at a traffic stop that doesn't seem Quite right. Not a felony stop, but, one hand on a flashlight, one hand on the butt of their sidearm, , not uncommon at all. It isn't a crime for a private citizen to do that in NC. In Some states, that would be "brandishing". We have no such law here. There is no law against open carry, per se. The law prevents "going armed to the terror of the public", but the crime isn't going armed, and scaring someone. The crime is the "wicked intent in the heart " of the person carrying openly. There is no law against carrying a firearm for sport, leisure, or protection. The problem is when you are in public, Intentionally terorizing people.