Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > Taking a firearm OUT of California?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2011, 06:19 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 6

Default Taking a firearm OUT of California?

Hello all,

I am a VA resident and will be heading to Cali for Christmas. My grandfather passed a few years ago and I have been negotiating with my uncle to purchase my grandfathers handguns from him. Does anyone know about the rules surrounding this? DO we need to "publish" the sale of them? Or can I just give him the money and fly out with them in accordance with TSA regulations? And help and tips would be greatly appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-19-2011, 06:22 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 5732 Times on 3358 Posts
Likes Given: 4877

I'm not 100% with the family aspect, but usually, wouldn't an out-of-stater need to get them sent from a Commie er Cali FFL/gunshop to a FFL in their home state to purchase them? It may be different with a relative, not certain.

Dead Bears, the only good kind.

Old 12-19-2011, 06:34 PM   #3
JTJ
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1809 Times on 983 Posts
Likes Given: 557

Bureau of Firearms | State of California - Department of Justice - Kamala D. Harris Attorney General

Patron Member NRA
"I would not be an old man if I had not been an armed young man." JTJ
"Political correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and promoted by mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a piece of feces by the clean end."