SCENARIO: What legally happens when you defend yourself - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > SCENARIO: What legally happens when you defend yourself

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 02:20 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2493 Times on 1422 Posts
Likes Given: 1945

I'll just beat the intruder to death with a table leg.

The cops can have that, if they want...

Old 06-21-2013, 02:53 AM   #22

Liked 1139 Times on 591 Posts
Likes Given: 49

The answer depends on a lot of different factors, the main ones being the laws of the state where you live, and the policies and practices of the law enforcement agency investigating the shooting.

I was an assistant district attorney in Fort Worth for four years, then was in private practice for almost 20 years, and was board certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization in criminal law for most of that time. Criminal law made up about 70% of my caseload. I have done over 300 felony trials,most of them violent crimes. I tried cases over much of Texas.

In most places in Texas, if: (1) you are in your own home; and (2) the intruder is armed, you will probably not be arrested, unless there are unusual circumstances. The weapon will almost always be confiscated while the investigation proceeds, and you will likely need a court order to get it back, even if you are cleared. The case may or may not be presented to a grand jury. In these circumstances you will usually come out allright.