Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > A Sad, Sad Day....

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 02:13 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxdogVF213

Trying to find out how it works since My wife has no issues and infact has a FOID card.. Can I "sign them over to her?" I mean they wont be "Mine" but will still be "Ours I guess" lol.
Legally yes that should still work just dandy. Just remember if things fall apart and she splits, she has full ownership of them.. i would consult a lawyer first but i've seen many friends (some with aggressive criminal backgrounds) weasel their way out of trouble for weapons in their houses simply from transferred paper ownership.

Last edited by Secondhand_Hero; 01-03-2012 at 02:15 AM.

Old 01-03-2012, 04:24 AM   #22
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 7572 Times on 3299 Posts
Likes Given: 1122

I am NOT a lawyer- am gun collector. YOU, sir, need to talk with a lawyer.

Federal law (18 US Code 922) says a felon cannot POSSESS a firearm. Own- sure. Possess- no. That includes have unrestricted access to the same.

Ball and cap- MAYBE. Under Federal law, they are antiques (even if made yesterday) and not firearms. HOWEVER- some states restrict THOSE from felons. Ammo- including 209 primers, is forbidden under Federal law.

If I were in your place, I would be appealing the CRAP out of that conviction. A felony is going to impact you in MANY other ways beyond gun ownership. Time (past time, really) to lawyer up.

What we have heah is.... failure to communicate.

Old 01-03-2012, 04:30 AM   #23