Purchase question. (background checks)
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > Purchase question. (background checks)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 03:36 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

A friend of mine came to me with a question concerning the purchase of a rifle. He figured since I have a small collection, I'd be the person to ask. But since i have no criminal background, I never had to worry about the answer this question and do not know.

When my friend was 17, he was arrested for a stolen car. He did not steal the car. He was in the back seat when they were stopped by a LEO. He did not know the car was stolen. The driver and other passenger ran, and he stayed in the car because he didn't know what was going on.

He was charged with "conspiracy to commit auto theft". Did not serve any jail time or probation, just sentenced to pay restitution. This was considered a felony but with no time served and it was a first offense.

Now from my understanding, it was not a violent crime and did not require any jail sentence. Will he be able to clear a background check? I know the form asks "Have you been convicted of a felony that is punishable by a jail sentence?". Does this exclude him?

The state is Pennsylvania.

Si vis pacem, Para Bellum.
"If you want peace, Prepare for war"

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-07-2012, 03:46 PM   #2
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Liked 21583 Times on 12248 Posts
Likes Given: 53672