Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > Officer Needs Assistance

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2010, 12:56 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Officer Needs Assistance

Officer Needs Assistance

My name is Vito J. Vincelli.

I am a disabled Police Officer, and this is my story.

Part One - The Fire

I grew up in Rochester, NY and entered the US Army Military Police in March of 1989. After spending nearly nine years as a Combat MP, I left the Army for civilian law enforcement. In 1998 I was hired as a Police Officer with the Greece Police Department in Rochester, NY. Shortly after the terrorist attacks of 9/11, I was selected to become a Federal Agent with the US Department of Homeland Security. I spent two years with DHS stationed in Washington, DC, and then decided to return to local law enforcement as a Police Officer with the Binghamton Police Department, Binghamton, NY.

On April 25th, 2008, I was working Road Patrol on the nightshift in the northern sector of the City of Binghamton. At 3:30 AM I responded to an arson house fire at 23 Eldredge Street in my sector.

A 28 year-old Monster named Michael Shino had an ongoing feud with one of the families living in this old city house which had been converted into a multi-family apartment building. Shino decided that the best way to get even was to set the building on fire while the residents slept, and so he torched the building, paying special attention to set both the front and rear entrances on fire so that no one could escape. Even the knowledge that women, children, and uninvolved families would be trapped did not deter Shino.

The fire was discovered by Officer Connor Heslin who was working the sector adjacent to mine. As I was right around the corner when Connor called the fire in, I was the second unit on-scene. Both of us would arrive to find the building fully engulfed, with both entrances completely blocked by flames.